mayibuye suite for organ (2001) organ, SR081

Composer: Surendran Reddy
Work title: mayibuye suite for organ
Instrumentation: organ
Score: organ score
Work No.: SR081
Composition date: 2001


A 3-movement virtuoso concert piece for solo organ: I. Prelude, II. African Hymn, III. Toccata. Commissioned for an international competition in 2001, and inspired by the anti-apartheid rallying cry, 'mayibuye, iAfrika!' (come back, Africa). The music draws on the composer's compositional principles of 'clazz', a crossover between classical music and jazz, as he explains in the detailed 'Composer's notes' that preface the score.